The Great Soda Bread Road Test

Homemade Bread Recipes: The Great Soda Bread Road Test

I’ve been researching the very best way for people to get back into baking their very home homemade bread and I think a great place to begin is with soda bread.  All soda bread recipes appear to be easy bread recipes and for soda bread in particular they are quick bread recipes.  One author even went so far as to say the soda bread is fool proof and the idea struck me that I should road test all the soda bread recipes I can lay my hands on in an attempt to see if that were true and then to report my findings.

Rounds of soda bread in various stages of baking.

Image via Wikipedia

Thus was born The Great Soda Bread Road Test.

To begin, I will bake one loaf of Soda Bread each week until I run out of recipes and then it’s up to you to provide me with more.  The recipes will all be listed under The Great Soda Bread Road Test category and the best of these will then be included in the Best Bread Recipes category on this blog.  Sound fair?

If you or your family has a really fantastic Soda Bread recipe (or even if it’s not so fantastic) why not send it to me so be reviewed, just post it into the comments box on the blog and I’ll see what I can do.  Better still go over to Homemade Bread Recipes and find the recipe being baked this week, bake it yourself and send me some feedback!  All such items will be posted – rate the bread from 1 AMAZING to 5 AWFUL!  The first recipe is up and waiting

So with that in mind… I’ll go turn on the oven.

Leave a Reply

